Fly Away

image

Day two of my road-trip North, and I’m now about 1,000kms from home. Today I flew down the road, riding high winds. My friends’ campervans struggled with the wind. While they plodded along, I raced ahead. I even had time to stop a few times on the side of the road, to soak in the beauty of the country.

Today I travelled through the lands of the Nukunu, Ngadjuri, Banggarla, Andyamathanha, Kuyani, Arabana and Kokatha peoples. (Apologies if I have misspelt these First Nations – limited technology doesn’t allow for proper research in-transit).

I wasn’t alone, flying on the wind. From out my window I spied many birds. Mainly ravens and small birds of prey. I also saw a huge Wedgetail Eagle take off.

Earlier, another Wedgetail swooped down, close to the passenger window, and travelled by my side for a while. I welcomed her company, smiling broadly. The Wedgetail eagle is my totem, and has visited me many times before. To have this one travel beside me is a special sign. I was reassured. I know I’m travelling in the right direction  I still don’t know where I’m going, but I have plenty of time to work that out.

Right now, I’m cosy in my backseat ‘bed’, at Coober Pedy (the ‘outback’ of South Australia). It is still windy outside and I can feel it nudging the car. As I drift off to sleep, I will dream of soaring with eagle. One can travel far with those wings.

3 thoughts on “Fly Away

I would love to hear from you, so please leave a comment

