And begin again…….

My view of the 2014 Ubud Writers & Readers Festival

My view as a First Aid volunteer at the 2014 Ubud Writers & Readers Festival

I’ve really neglected my blog this year. Going from weekly posts to monthly to whenever. I could blame it on a severe case of writers’ block. Or be honest and call it procrastination. Maybe take the angle of too busy dealing with grief & loss. Or just too busy. I’m sure I could come up with some great excuses, but to be honest it’s because I got bored with reading my own work. How can I expect other people to read my blog if I find it boring?

Why is it boring? I’m over writing about myself. My “writer’s journey” or reflection on “the craft”. Blah blah blah. I’m also over writing about who and what I’ve lost. I’m over being whiney. Making everything about me. Writing trivial fluff when there’s more important issues that need writing about.

So, its time to begin this blog again. And to get back into writing. Less wasting time on social media. More nose to keyboard.

And its time to get back out into the world. My new bookshop can do without me for a while. (Oh yeah, I opened a bookshop recently. That’s one of the many distractions-from-writing that I’ve been doing lately). Those that now depend on me can survive without me for a while. I’m running away from home.

Tomorrow I’m flying to Bali, to once again volunteer at the Ubud Writers & Readers Festival. Honestly, I don’t know why I thought it would be a good idea. Sure, now that I work 7 days a week (another story I’m over talking about) I really need a break. So why am I using scarce money to go overseas to volunteer? If I’m going to max out my credit card, wouldn’t it be better to sit on a beach with a cocktail?

Why? Because I need some humility. And some fresh air and exercise wouldn’t go astray, as all of my jobs (I have a few – another dull story) involve sitting. Also, I need inspiration to get creative and Bali is the Island of Creativity. I need to be challenged by ideas; Ubud festival always has a great mix of speakers and themes – covering a range of important social, environmental and political issues.

Ooops. I’ve made this about myself – again.

Anyway, tune in to this blog or via instagram, facebook or twitter as I’ll share my trip to Bali. And I’ll do summaries of the sessions and guest speakers at the Ubud Writers and Readers Festival. Perhaps share reflections of being a volunteer. My aim is to make my writing less about me, and more about others. Let’s just see if I can……….

8 thoughts on “And begin again…….

  1. Sometimes it’s just so HARD to blog. I know what you mean- I get stuck on day-to-day crap and trying to mend myself. SO much to write about, so little real motivation. Have fun in Ubud- you deserve it!

    Like

I would love to hear from you, so please leave a comment

